Dash Cam Recording
Some jurisdictions regulate or prohibit use of this device. It is your responsibility to know and comply with applicable laws and rights to privacy in jurisdictions where you plan to use this device.
The dash cam records video to the camera memory card (Installing a Memory Card). By default, the device immediately starts recording video when it turns on, and it continues recording until it is turned off. If the memory card is full, the device automatically deletes the oldest unsaved video to create space for new video.
When the option to promptly delete unsaved video is enabled, the device continually deletes unsaved video more than three minutes old and deletes all unsaved video each time it is powered off. This feature is available only for specific regions. When the camera is set to a supported region, you can enable or disable this feature in the camera settings (Camera Settings in the Garmin Drive App).
You can save a video recording to prevent it from being overwritten or deleted (Viewing Videos and Photos on Your Smartphone).